Skip to main content
European Commission logo

ShARed GOvernance of Sustainable fisheries and aquaculture activities as leverage to protect marine resources in the Adriatic Sea

Funding Programme:

Programme 2014 - 2020 Interreg V-A Italy - Croatia

Funding Programme:

Interreg Italy-Croatia


Completion Year:

Implementation Period:

Overall Budget: € 5.725.155,00
EU Contribution: € 4.866.381,00

About the Project:

ARGOS sets up a common framework for governance where all Institutions competent for fisheries and aquaculture in the Programme area act as a whole in the management and protection of shared biological resources, under the best scientific guidance.

So the scientific Adriatic Advisory Council (AAC) is established for recommendations that are preparatory to final outputs from the Steering Committee (SC).

Recommendations and final outputs come from results of multidisciplinary activities as:

1. Maritime Spatial Planning studies to deepen the overlaps in the use of marine space;

2. Assessment of interactions between environmental management and social-economic impacts;

3. Standardisation of existing data on Adriatic biological resources;

4. Running of bio-economic models for stock assessments;

5. Implementation of pilot actions;

6. Definition of a cross border network to share project results and define the best practices for training operators towards environmental sustainability and the adoption of responsible practices in fisheries and aquaculture.

Adriatic Advisory Council and Steering Committee activities, as a process for governance, aim at defining common measures for the sustainable management of fisheries and aquaculture activities, in the framework of the protection of the marine Adriatic environment.

Project parners

  • Regione Autonoma Friuli-Venezia Giulia - Lead Partner (IT);
  • Javna ustanova Razvojna agencija Šibensko-kninske županije (HR);
  • Zadarska Županija (HR);
  • Primorsko-goranska županija (HR);
  • Istarska županija - Regione Istriana (HR);
  • Regione Molise (IT);
  • Regione Marche (IT);
  • Institut za oceanografiju i ribarstvo (HR);
  • Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (IT);
  • Dubrovačko-Neretvanska Županija (HR); 
  • Javna Ustanova Rera Sd Za Koordinaciju I Razvoj Splitsko Dalmatinske Županije (HR);
  • Regione del Veneto (IT);
  • Regione Emilia Romagna (IT).