Skip to main content
European Commission logo

Sea Meets Land

Funding Programme:



Completion Year:

Contact Person(s):

Ingela Isaksson

+46 (0) 10 224 48 71 (ingela[dot]isaksson[at]lansstyrelsen[dot]se)


Tyra Risnes

+47 97 61 97 21 (tyrris[at]ostfoldfk[dot]no)

Implementation Period:
Specific Funding Programme:

INTERREG VIA Öresund - Kattegat - Skagerrak programme



About the Project:

Hav möter Land (Sea meets Land) shall contribute to the long-term sustainable utilisation of the value represented by Kattegatt and Skagerrak coastal and sea area. Climate, water management (regarding the implementation of the first cycle of the Water Framework Directive) and spatial planning are three focus areas of the project. The project goals are to collect and analyse common data for the purpose of climate modelling, to pay heed to the climate’s extreme importance for the area’s readiness to change, and to undertake climate modelling and create prognosis tools to predict consequences of climate change for marine ecosystems, to devise a common inter-regional knowledge base for management, to form a common knowledge base and carry out consequence analysis as support for the strategic and long-term planning. Further aims are the development of strong links between management and research, based on the eco-system approach and adaptive management.

The underlying idea is to identify values and sensitive areas to find a good balance between use and conservation of the shared coastal and marine areas and to prepare community planning for climate change and the sea level rises that are predicted. The 26 project partners include municipalities, regions, universities and governmental agencies from Sweden, Norway and Denmark. They are working together on climate, water and spatial planning for the Kattegat and the Skagerrak. The project results are meant to assist decision-makers, planners, researchers and managers of natural resources.

Project partners

  • County Administrative Board of Västra Götaland – Lead Partner (SE)
  • Østfold County Council – Project owner (NO)
  • Swedish Species Information Center (SE)
  • Aust-Agder County Council (NO)
  • Buskerud County Council (NO)
  • Falkenberg’s Municipality (SE)
  • County Governor in Aust Agder (NO)
  • County Governor in Buskerud (NO)
  • County Governor in Telemark (NO)
  • County Governor in Vestfold (NO)
  • County Governor in Østfold (NO)
  • University of Gothenburg (SE)
  • Swedish Agency for Marine and Water Management (SE)
  • Kungsbacka Municipality (SE)
  • Orust Municipality and the project “8 fjordar” (SE)
  • Lysekils Municipality (SE)
  • Sotenäs Municipality (SE)
  • Larvik Municipality (NO)
  • County administrative board of Halland (SE)
  • Nøtterøy Municipality (NO)
  • Halland Regional Development Council (SE)
  • Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute (SE)
  • Telemark County Council (NO)
  • Vestfold County Council (NO)
  • Region Västra Götaland (SE)
  • Aarhus University (DK)