Skip to main content
European Commission logo

Integrated Assessment of Atlantic Marine Ecosystems in Space and Time

Funding Programme:

Horizon 2020

Funding Programme:

European's Union Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme


Completion Year:

Implementation Period:
Specific Funding Programme:

Grant agreement ID: 818123


EU contribution: € 10 631 224

About the Project:

iAtlantic assesses health of deep and open-ocean Atlantic ecosystems. It scales and standardises measurements from different disciplines so ecosystem status can be assessed against multiple stressors and global change. It will predict where and when synergistic effects of global change and multiple stressors occur, and what implications these will have for society, economy and ocean health. iAtlantic focuses on 12 key areas of the ocean, using innovative approaches to upscale observations to address basin scale issues. Over 30 expeditions will study ecosystems most at risk of change. iAtlantic also builds human and technical capacities by creating iAtlantic Fellows through a capacity building programme including hands-on work at sea, technology transfer, analytical techniques and data interpretation training and a mentoring programme.

Project partners

  • The University of Edinburgh – Lead partner (UK);
  • Fundacao Universidade do Vale do Itajai (BR);
  • University of the Western Cape (ZA);
  • Instituto Espanol de Oceanografia (ES);
  • IMAR - Instituto Do Mar (PT);
  • Seascape Consultants LTD (UK);
  • Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (FR);
  • United Kingdom Research and Innovation (UK);
  • Helmholtz Zentrum Fur Ozeanforschung Kiel (DE);
  • Heriot-Watt University (UK);
  • Universitaet Bremen (DE);
  • Universidade de Sao Paulo (BR);
  • University of Kwazulu-Natal (ZA);
  • The Scottish Association for Marine Science LBG (UK);
  • Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Cientificas y Tecnicas (CONICET) (AR);
  • University College Cork - National University of Ireland, Cork (IR);
  • Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo (BR);
  • Nelson Mandela University (ZA);
  • Goeteborgs Universitet (SE);
  • Universidade Federal De Santa Catarina (BR);
  • University of Cape Town (ZA);
  • Seascape Belgium (BE);
  • TMG Research GGMBH (DE);
  • Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique CNRS (FR);
  • Sorbonne Université (FR);
  • Aarhus Universitet (DK);
  • Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum Fur Polar- Und Meeresforschung (DE);
  • University College London (UK);
  • Hafrannsoknastofnun, Rannsokna- Og Radgjafarstofnun Hafs Og Vatna (IS);
  • Temple University of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education (US);
  • Gianni Matthew (NL);
  • National Research Foundation (ZA);
  • Oregon State University (US).